Malt and Hops – The Gold

TheGold

Japanese: 麦とホップ(ザ・ゴールド) (mugi to HOPPU [ZA GOORUDO])

Brewery: Sapporo

Style: Happoushu

ABV: 5%

Price: 134円

Strapline: “Rich taste is produced by carefully-selected high quality barley and hops.”

I hope this doesn’t ruin my enjoyment of the usual Sapporo Draught. The hint of extra bitterness which set that one apart from the other beers is quite clearly also present in this happoushu. Unlike the Sapporo Draught, this bitterness is dreadfully balanced against the amber water it’s been mixed with. The intial taste tastes like a bad aftertaste. The aftertaste tastes like the taste in your mouth after a night of boozing.

This is why I’m worried about it spoiling my enjoyment of Sapporo Draught, which I quite like. I don’t want to be reminded of this every time I open a can of the normal stuff. I shan’t be buying this again.

It’s still better than the Asahi Clear though.

Leave a comment